What is the Federal False Claims Act?

The Federal False Claims Act (“FCA”) is the primary weapon in combating fraud against the federal government. The FCA covers fraudulent claims made against any federal agency, program, contract, or grant. Many states have similar laws to protect themselves against fraud. Under the FCA, whistleblowers are permitted to bring a case on behalf of the federal government to recover damages on its behalf.

How are Whistleblowers Incentivized?

The Federal False Claims Act incentivizes whistleblowers to report fraud by offering a percentage of any reward recovered from an ensuing lawsuit, generally in the range of 15-25%. Under the FCA, the reporting individual is known as the “relator.” The government has the option to either step in and litigate, or decline the case. If the government declines to proceed, the relator may continue on behalf of the government. If the relator succeeds, they are entitled to a larger percentage of the recovery (25-30%).

Why is a Qui Tam Lawyer Important in Federal False Claims Act Lawsuits?

The FCA is a very complex area of the law with a number of unique provisions that an inexperienced attorney may overlook or misinterpret. It is important to find a whistleblower qui tam law firm with extensive knowledge and experience litigating Federal False Claims Act qui tam cases.

In order to report fraud against the government and recover under the FCA, a whistleblower must file a lawsuit, rather than call a hotline or follow some other reporting mechanism. The lawsuit itself is complex, requiring specificity in pleading the claims of fraud.

Only the first relator to report the fraud under the Federal False Claims Act is eligible for a reward. The government declines to intervene in the vast majority of cases. A False Claims Act qui tam lawyer can help the relator file an action that will get the attention of the government and maximize the chance of government intervention and success. Finally, an FCA claim can take years to investigate and litigate, making securing a qui tam attorney even more important.

Contact Us To Learn More

Do you need a Whistleblower Lawyer or want to know more information about Qui Tam Law and your rights under the False Claims Act?

There are three easy ways to contact our firm:

  1. Fill out the contact form on this page.
  2. Email quitam@bm.net
  3. Call (888) 647-9292

Your information will remain confidential and we will work to protect your rights.

click here to speak confidentially with an experienced berger montague whistleblower lawyer for free.
By | 2019-03-15T10:28:23+00:00 April 18th, 2018|False Claims Act Information|